Capitol Armory ad

kinda a dumb question about getting into 40 cal.

The #1 community for Gun Owners in Texas

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • AusTex

Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Nov 16, 2008
    Austin, Texas
    Ok guys I have the dillon xl650... I had to work out some kinks but I love the damn thing. I have it setup for 9mm or .223 and I HATE swapping between the two. I shoot mostly 9mm pistol and really got into it when I started shooting suppressed 9mm. I am breaking the mold now though and getting rid of the lone wolf 9mm barrel and going to the 40 cal barrel.

Before you guys talk smoke here is my thought process. The 40 cal is a larger diameter bullet yet uses the exact same load for 180grn sub and my 9mm 147 grn sub sonic load. Contrary to most people belief most 180grn 40 cal purchased at the store is sub out of shorter pistol barrels. Soooo I am going to start loading sub 40 cal as I just want to do it. There is not a ton of suppressed 40 cal info out there and I would like to play with some loads and see what all the NON-hype is about.

Ok so now for my question.. Should I spend the probably $100+ to get my dillon setup to take 40 cal and have to switch back and forth all the time or should I just get a dedicated 40 cal turret press, square deal, or lower priced progressive. I already have dies so those are not including in my expense.

I know dillon is the best but nothing chaps my ass more than having to switch the damn 650 up all the time.

CanTex

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Mar 4, 2009
    Pflugerville