• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • C_GONZO

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Apr 25, 2013
    San Antonio, TX
    So I am about to be officially retired as of the 1st of May. I retired from the U.S Air Force where I was a cop for the last 13 years. Oh how I wish my base credentials would cross over into the civilian side of the world, but since they don't I am having to either go back to an academy to become a civilian cop or take up a new trade. I also have my Class B CDL, but haven't had any civilian driving time in awhile...What to do is now the question. Thinking on going back to school to pick up some computer courses or something....Ideas or suggestions always welcome..
    Capitol Armory ad

majormadmax

Úlfhéðnar
    Rating - 100%
    9   0   0
    Aug 27, 2009
    Helotes!
    So you're not TCLEOSE-certified? Do you still have any of your GI Bill left? You might want to consider it, Alamo Area Colleges offer a program that might work.

Didn't SAPD come to your TAP course? They were at mine, but like I said it's been a few years. That department is also hiring but you will have to go through their academy regardless. I volunteer to help train cadets and there are a lot of retired military types going through that program. It's a good department if you're thinking about staying in law enforcement.

Otherwise, I can think of much unless you're willing to head south to the oil fields. Do you have a clearance? That would help, but even work in the government has gotten tight over the past couple of years. I've been a contractor since retiring in 2006, and been lucky to keep constant employment ever since but it's not been easy. I finished a second grad degree to keep my company vested in me, these days you have to do everything you can to keep yourself competitive!

I hope you find something soon!

Cheers! M2

ROGER4314

Been Called "Flash" Since I Was A Kid!
    Rating - 100%