• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • TexasBrandon

TGT Addict
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Jul 14, 2011
    Salado
    I'm studying for the Technician license exam. My time in the army and around IT has helped quite the bit in the theory in the ARRL book that I bought. Its apparently their officially licensed book with the actual test questions spaced out across each subsection in the chapters. So far, I find most of it common sense but I have learned quite the bit.

My question is, how difficult is the actual exam? I know its 35 questions and I do fairly well on exams since I teach for a living. My notes book is covered in those sticky tabs and I keep reviewing material. I don't want to overstudy for the exam though.
    Capitol Armory ad

TexasBrandon

TGT Addict
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Jul 14, 2011
    Salado
    Sounds good, I always put myself in the stupid category and assume the worst. I've failed very few exams in my lifetime. I can take IT exams and pass them with a near perfect score but HAM radio is not exactly in line with what I do. My background came from the Army and understanding transmissions.

tangoparson

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 9, 2017
    Unless it has changed, you can fail at least one entire section and still pass. Just remember, they don’t put your score on the license — a pass is a pass.

The worst part about the test in the generation I took it was that there were some questions that you either knew or didn’t. Such as what is the frequency bands for operation in 40 meters. Or about the rules. Those are just hard to intuit or calculate. Memorizing that crap is the only way i could do it. The theory was a snap. Could almost cipher that stuff in my head.

Good luck on it. If I can help let me know

Tango
    N5vhr

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

TexasBrandon

TGT Addict
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Jul 14, 2011
    Salado