• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • M. Sage

TGT Addict
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 21, 2009
    San Antonio
    When I had a roommate, we used a Netgear 3700. It was pretty slick, but now there's only one computer so it collects dust for now.. But as long as you've got a 10/100 connection to the router, you won't really notice a difference between a bottom-end router and a top of the line unit.

TexasBrandon

TGT Addict
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Jul 14, 2011
    Salado
    Yeah, I work with network engineering for a living and I can tell you right now, unless your running some internet like fiber with more than a 50 Mbps pipe you really don't need anything rediculously expensive.

M. Sage

TGT Addict
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 21, 2009
    San Antonio
    Comcast ain't that fast. And for gaming, huge amounts of bandwidth don't really help anyway. It's ping that kills you, and more bandwidth won't really help with that.

Where the router I have is nice is the wireless. The stuff is about as fast as running through a 10/100 to the cable modem.

jgalvanatx

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jun 11, 2011
    Austin, TX
    The best thing to do is to speed test with and without the router. Some low-end routers are weak on memory and CPU and can cause extra latency. Remember, there are two issues at play here: latency and bandwidth. Latency is what will make your game "lag" and bandwidth is actually less important but will affect things like map downloads etc.

You can use my speed test to test:

Renew Data Corp Speed Test

or

Chose the server closest to you on speedtest.net:

Speedtest.net - The Global Broadband Speed Test